Thanks for tuning in to the Virtual Annual Lunch-In

khadra sharif holding award at bestprep annual luncheon

Thanks for tuning in to the Virtual Annual Lunch-In!

More than 525 BestPrep supporters, teachers, volunteers, and students attended the first-ever virtual Annual Lunch-In event on October 5, 2020.

The event kicked off with an exclusive and surprise welcome from Melinda Gates of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and Pivotal Ventures and featured a message from New York Times journalist and three-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author, Thomas Friedman. A highlight of the program was keynote “How to Climb the Ladder without Getting Dizzy or Falling Off” by Jeannine Rivet, Retired Executive Vice President of UnitedHealth Group.

thomas friedman bestprep annual luncheon jeannine rivet bestprep annual luncheon melinda gates bestprep annual luncheon

The Annual Lunch-In recognized BestPrep’s most outstanding Minnesota volunteers, teachers, and students from the last year. See below for a listing of all the 2019-2020 award winners.

khadra sharif annual luncheon 2020Watch the program recording here and check out photos from the event on our Facebook album.

Congratulations to the Award Winners:

Board Member of Distinction: Adam Taylor, Securian Financial

Don Friborg Student of the Year: Khadra Sharif, University of St. Thomas

Carpenter Educator of the Year: Jenna Gomer, Eastview High School

Bunzel Volunteer of the Year: Ashley Erickson, Optum

Service Award Winners:

Melissa Adams, UnitedHealth Group

Dean Barton, Ameriprise Financial, Inc.

Richard Benton, Ecolab

Jacqueline Berry, 3M

Matthew Haag, Ecolab, Inc.

Christopher Husaker, General Mills

Emma Keeler, Medtronic

Jennifer Kriha, Versique Search & Consulting

Elizabeth Krogh, Artisan Financial Group

Shoua Lee, Wells Fargo

Joshua Lehman, Allianz Life

Jessica Lo, Emerson

Evan Loenser, U.S. Bank

Michael Martin, Thrivent

Casey Meyer, Securian Financial

Jess McCoy, Federated Insurance

Christine Noonan, Minnesota State Fair

Stacy Hystrom, KPMG

Meghan Paulson, Cargill, Inc.

Michael Remington, Xcel Energy

Darcy Roessler, Best Buy

Brian St. Martin, Allianz Life

Valerie Young

3M Group Service Award Winners:

Thomas Asci

Jerold (Alex) Drake

James Dobbs

Kevin Green

Taylor Harper

Bryan Hunt

Justin Pettinelli

Educator of Excellence Award Winners:

Eric Bartosh, Valley Middle School

Susan Beers, Luverne Public School District

Tracy Byrd, Washburn High School

Raquel Gudiel, Cristo Rey Jesuit High School

April Johnson, Murray County Central High School

Julie Johnson, Minnehaha Academy-Upper School

Michael Krech, Washington Tech Secondary Magnet

Kevin Neff, Rockford Elementary Arts Magnet School

Julie Onken, Woodbury High School

Sadie Oraskovich, Champlin Park High School

Elizabeth Rojas, Cristo Rey Jesuit High School

Kathy Romero, Como Park Senior High School

Tyler Soderstrom, Isle High School

Becky Wallerick, Jefferson High School

Mandy Wineberg, Robbinsdale Cooper High School

Mainong Yang, Upward Bound – Century College